Health Sciences

School of Health Sciences

The School of Health Sciences headed by Professor Sabiha Essack trains Audiologists, Biokineticists, Dental Therapists, Occupational Therapists, Optometrists, Oral Hygienists, Pharmacists, Physiotherapists and Speech Therapists, alleviating scarce skills and addressing vacancy rates, particularly within the public health sector.

As the sole provider of Health Sciences professional education and training in KwaZulu-Natal, all programmes are well subscribed with the student body comprised of students from the whole of South Africa as well as southern and central Africa. The programmes in the Health Sciences aims to train Health Science professionals to play preventative, promotive, supportive, curative and rehabilitative roles in the public and private sectors. The degrees allow for specialisation and are three to four years in duration.

The following disciplines are located within the School:

  • Audiology
  • Biokinetics, Exercise and Leisure Sciences
  • Dentistry
  • Occupational therapy
  • Optometry
  • Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Physiotherapy
  • Speech language pathology

    Share This Page