College of Health Sciences

Directory of Experts

COLLEGE OF HEALTH SCIENCES DIRECTORY OF EXPERTS

Areas of ExpertiseNameEmail AddressTelephone Number
All animal related issues- diseases that are transmitted from animals to man-rabiesDr Sanil Singhsinghsd@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8160
   084 416 0271
Anaesthesiology and Critical/Intensive CareDr Dean Gopalangopalan@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4328
   082 777 4450
    
Antimicrobial Resistance, Antimicrobial Stewardship, Health Professional Education, Access, Retention and Success in Higher EducationProfessor Sabiha Essack essacks@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4287/
   082 343 9892
AudiologyDr Jessica PakenPakenj@ukzn.ac.za 0312 60 7548
    
Bio & Research Ethics and Medical LawProfessor Sylvester C. Chimachima@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4604
   071 246 6168
    
Brain tumours, aneurysms, AVM, neuroendoscopy, paediatric neuro-surgeryDr Veysel Karankaranv@ukzn.ac.za082 975 9723
    
Cardiology (heart disease, hypertension, cholesterol, etc)Professor Datshana Naidoo DatshanaNai@ialch.co.za031 240 2207/
   083 625 7321
Clinical Aspect of HIV Infection, NeurotubercolosisProfessor Ahmed Bhigjeebhigjee@ukzn.ac.za031 240 2359/63
    
Communication disorders associated with autism; speech disordersMs Jennifer Ann Pahlpahlj@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7624   
    
Controlled release dosage forms; Clinical Pharmacy/Ward Pharmaceutical ServicesDr Elizabeth Ojewoleojewolee@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7937
    
DermatologyProfessor Anisa Mosammosama@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4565/
   084 497 8608
    
Dermatology, Skin, Nails and HairProfessor Ncoza Dlova dlovan@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4531/ 082 464 6210
    
    
Diabetes, HIV-TB, CVSDr Viren Rambiritchrambiritchv@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7797
    
Dental public health, dental health education, research ethicsProf Shenuka Singhsinghshen@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8591/
   073 841 7384
    
Drug Design and SynthesisProfessor Gert Krugerkruger@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1845
HIV and Antibacterial (Including TB) Drugs   
NMR   
Molecular Modelling   
    
Drug interactions, metabolic complications in antiretroviral therapyDr Peter Owiraowirap@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7720/
   079 347 6920
    
Drug Utilization; Drug Policy; Health Information SystemsProfessor Fatima Sulemansulemanf@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7941/
   837 860 758
    
Epigenetics, Genetics, Toxicology       Professor Anil Chuturgoonchutur@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4404
    
Endocrinology and DiabetesDr Ayesha Motalamotala@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4233/
   083 652 4947
EndocrinologyDr Imran Parukparuki@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4233/
   084 553 3399
Family Medicine, Primary Emergency Care, Maternal Surgical Safety, Quality improvement, The district Health systemProfessor Mergan Naidoonaidoom@ukzn.ac.za083 500 5334
    
-       Forensic Pathology, Dr Sipho Mfolozi MfoloziS@ukzn.ac.za031 240 2580/
-       Clinical forensic medicine, i.e. medical examination of rape survivors and drink drivers, age estimation in living patients, examination of torture victims and victims of human trafficking, clinical examination of detainees before and after SAPS interrogation/crime scene pointing.  079 5807107
-       Toxicology   
-       medico-legal death investigation including crime scene investigation, performance of autopsies.   
-       Numerical thanatochronometry (death-time estimation).   
    
    
GeneticsProfessor Colleen Aldousaldousc@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4124/
   084 407 7603
    
GeriatricsProfessor Bilkish Cassimcassimb@uklzn.ac.za031 260 4246/ 0837884358
    
Graduate level Public Health Education and Evaluation of Community SanitationDr Stephen Knightknights@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4226
   083 762 3123
    
Human Genetics, TB and HIV. Focuses on how human genes can protect against infectious diseasesDr. Veron Ramsuranramsuranv@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4898
   082 652 2160
    
Health Professions EducationDr Veena Singaramsingaram@ukn.ac.za312 604 594
   084 572 1018
    
Health EconomicsProf Indres MoodleyMoodleyi15@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4497
   083 704 1948
    
HIV and AIDS, Operational Pharmacy Practice projects, NHIDr Vassie Naidoonaidoopj@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7487/
   083 964 5429 
    
HIV/AIDS especially biomedical research and interventions, virology, immunologyProfessor Thumbi Ndung'undungu@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4887/
   082 358 7204
    
HIV and lung in children, Vaccination, Pulmonology, Allergy and Immunology, TB Dr Prakash Jeena jeena@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4345/53/ 084 467 2723
    
HIV, Genome SequencingProfessor Tulio de Oliveiratuliodna@gmail.com082 962 4219
    
    
 HIV PreventionProfessor Salim Abdool KarimKarims1@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4555
    
HIV/Women's HealthProfessor Quarraisha Abdool KarimQuarraisha.abdoolkarim@caprisa.org031 260 4208
    
Prevention of Mother to Child Transmission of HIVProfessor Daya Moodleymoodleyd1@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4683
HIV Prevention in Pregnancy  082 550 7693
STIs in Pregnancy   
ART in Pregnancy   
    
HIV and Non-HIV Sexually Transmitted InfectionsDr Nathlee Abbaiabbain@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4439
   071 686 1423
    
Human Patient Simulation in Anaesthesia & Resuscitation TrainingDr Narendra BhimsanBhimsan@ukzn.ac.za031 240 1784/
   082 463 2636
    
Infectious DiseasesProfessor Yunus Moosamoosay@ukzn.ac.za072 522 7997
    
Implementation of Point-of-Care Diagnostics in Resource-Limited SettingsDr Tivani Phosa Mashamba-Thompsonmashamba-thompson@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2530
Systematic Reviews, Scoping Reviews  078 435 8283
    
    
Kidney Diseases and ImmunologyProf Alain Assoungaassoungaa@ukzn.ac.za031 240 1325/
   072 274 1217
    
Maternal Health MattersProfessor Jack Moodleyjmog@ukzn.ac.za031260 4241
   083 633 5615
    
Mental health IssuesDr Winnie Baphumelele CeleCelew@ukzn.ac.za031-260 2966/ 060 399 9161
    
Neurologically acquired communication disorders in adults; Early childhood interventionMs Legini Moodley moodleyl@ukzn.ac.za  031 260 7387 
    
Occupational Health and Safety, Air Pollution and Health Outcomes, occupational asthma, legislation for compensation of occupational diseasesProfessor Rajen Naidoonaidoon@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4385/
   082 437 9333
    
Occupational TherapyMr Stanford Phehlukwayophehlukwayos@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7954/
   734 519 004
Occupational Therapy, Community Engagement, HIV/Aids management, Palliative CareMs Chantal Christopherchristopherc@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8218/
   084 563 3799
    
Occupational Therapy.Mr December Mpanzampanzad@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8381/
Rural Health and Substance Abuse Services  082 844 2938
    
Occupational Therapy and Mental Health, autism, caring for the caregiver, Group work in occupational therapyDr Debbie Fewsterfewster@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7354/
   084 692 5899
    
Occupational Therapy Practice (Physical Rehabilitation, Vocational Assessment, Paediatric Development); Health Science ResearchDr Pragashnie Govendernaidoopg@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8258/
   0716 056 931
    
Occupational therapy, wheelchairs and seating, geriatrics, osteoarthritis   
 Ms June McIntoshmcintoshj@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8675/
   0721 225 055
    
Orthopaedic SurgeryProf Leonard (Len) Maraismaraisl@ukzn.ac.za082 904 7277
Fracture-related (post-operative/post-traumatic) bone infections and chronic osteomyelitis   
    
Physical and paediatric Occupational therapy,   primary healthcare , occupational therapy education Ms Deshni Naidoonaidoodes@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8407/
   081 554 0454
    
Ophthalmology are vitreoretinal diseases and AIDS-related ocular problemsDr Linda Visservisser@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4341/
   082 958 7458
    
Optometry, Blindness Prevention, Ocular DiseaseDr Khathutshelo Percy Mashigemashigek@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7352/
   082 465 2699
 Professor Kovin Naidook.naidoo@brienholdenvision.org083 777 4293
 Ms Naimah Ebrahim Khanebrahimn@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8645/
    
 Ms Urvashni Nirghinnirghinu@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7940/
   072 589 8855
 Dr Vanessa Raquel Moodleymoodleyvr@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7091/
   832 595 271
 Mr Alvin MunsamyMunsamya1@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7816
    
Optometry - Low vision, public health optometry, Human Resources for Eye Health, The Business of Optometry and NHIMs Zamadonda N Q Xulu-KasabaXuluKasabaZ@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7477
    
 Occupational health: hearing disability in the informal sectorProfessor Mershen Pillay pillaym1@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8109/ 072 255 3903
    
Paediatrics: Asthma, lung diseases in children , cystic fibrosisProfessor Refiloe Masekelamasekelar@ukzn.ac.za079 489 0936
    
    
Paediatrics, Infectious Diseases, Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome and AIDS-related Opportunistic Infections   
 Professor Raziya Bobatbobat@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4533/
   083 225 6983
    
Paediatric Nephrology, Research EthicsProfessor Rajendra Bhimmabhimma@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4345/
   083 799 5674
    
Pharmaceutical ChemistryProfessor Rajshekhar Karpoormathkarpoormath@ukzn.ac.za031 2607179
   072 110 7207
    
Physiotherapy-HIV/AIDS, Sport and Soft Tissue InjuriesProfessor Verusia ChettyChettyve@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7741
   074 890 5279
 Dr Ntsikelelo Pefilepefilen@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7181/
   084 730 0432
 Ms Prithi Jayaramanjayaramanp@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8024/
   079 291 1510
 Dr Thaya Nadasannadasant@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7939/
   084 494 4880
 Dr Sonill Sooknunan Maharajmaharjss@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7817/
   083 461 1413
    
    
Plastic SurgeryProfessor Anil Madareemadaree@ukzn.ac.za031 240 1168/
   083 625 0629
    
Pre-eclampsiaProfessor Anita Naicker naickera@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4435/
   082 338 8821
    
Psychiatry and Mental HealthDr Suvira Ramlallramlalls4@ukzn.ac.za031 242 6168/
   082 977 4010
 Professor Bonga Chilizachilizab@ukzn.ac.za031 2604321
   083 782 6642
    
Public Health Medicine-HIVProfessor Myra TaylorTaylor@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4499/
   076 153 0842
    
Public Health MedicineDr Saloshni NaidooNaidoos71@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4008/
   083 300 5370
    
    
Quality of medicines, Design and manufacturing of new medicines, Registration of medicines with South African Health Products Authority (SAHPRA), NanotechnologyProfessor Thirumala Govender  
  govenderth@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7983/
   083 326 3195
    
Renal Disease and High Blood PressureProfessor Yackoob Seedatseedaty1@ukzn.ac.za031 266 1501
    
Rural HealthProfessor Mosa MoshabelaMoshabela@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1736
    
Rural Health and Family MedicineDr Bernhard GaedeGaedeb@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4210
Sexual ViolenceProfessor Sinegugu Dumadumas1@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4946
Intimate Partner Violence  082 449 2635
Forensic Nursing   
Nursing   
Nursing Education   
Speech Language PathologyDr Penny Flackflackp@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7207/
   083 661 4774
 Ms Desiree Johnjohnd@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7846
 Ms Saira B. S. Karrim Karimsb@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7550/
   084 555 2175
    
 Speech Impairments: DysphagiaProfessor Mershen Pillay pillaym1@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8109/ 072 255 3903
    
Sport ScienceMs Khumbuzile Cynthia Khumalokhumalok@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7544/
   072 361 0413
    
Sport Science, Exercise Physiology, Biokineticist, Exercise as MedicineDr Takshita Sookansookan@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7987
   082 639 0875
    
Telemedicine, telehealth, eHealth, Sports Medicine, Health InformaticsProfessor Maurice Marsmars@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4543/
   084 757 8321
    
Trauma/ATLS/Systems of emergency care/Prehospital care and Research EthicsProfessor Tim HardcastleHardcastle@ukzn.ac.za/ timothyhar@ialch.co.za 082 468 1615
    
Transgender Voice/CommunicationProfessor Mershen Pillaypillaym1@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8109/ 072 255 3903
Transformation of Healthcare   
    
UrooncologyDr Ehab Helmy Abdel Goadabdelgoad@ukzn.ac.za031 208 8044/
   083 780 8044
    
 VirologyDr Michelle Lucille Gordontarinm@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4779/
   072 938 2250