College of Health Sciences

Directory of Experts

COLLEGE OF HEALTH SCIENCES DIRECTORY OF EXPERTS

Areas of ExpertiseNameEmail AddressTelephone Number
All animal related issues- diseases that are transmitted from animals to man-rabiesDr Sanil Singhsinghsd@ukzn.ac.za312 608 160
084 416 0271
Anaesthesiology and Critical/Intensive CareDr Dean Gopalangopalan@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4328
082 777 4450
AnaesthesiaProfessor Thomas Edward (Ted) Sommervillesommer@ukzn.ac.za312 604 409
Medical Education
Antimicrobial Resistance, Antimicrobial Stewardship, Health Professional Education, Access, Retention and Success in Higher EducationProfessor Sabiha Essack essacks@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4287/
823 439 892
AudiologyDr Jessica PakenPakenj@ukzn.ac.za312 607 548
Bio & Research Ethics and Medical LawProfessor Sylvester C. Chimachima@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4604
071 246 6168
Brain tumours, aneurysms, AVM, neuroendoscopy, paediatric neuro-surgeryDr Veysel Karankaranv@ukzn.ac.za082 975 9723
Cardiology (heart disease, hypertension, cholesterol, etc)Professor Datshana Naidoo DatshanaNai@ialch.co.za031 240 2207/
083 625 7321
Clinical Aspect of HIV Infection, NeurotubercolosisProfessor Ahmed Bhigjeebhigjee@ukzn.ac.za031 240 2359/63
Communication disorders associated with autism; speech disordersMs Jennifer Ann Pahlpahlj@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7624   
Controlled release dosage forms; Clinical Pharmacy/Ward Pharmaceutical ServicesDr Elizabeth Ojewoleojewolee@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7937
DermatologyProfessor Anisa Mosammosama@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4565/
084 497 8608
031 260 4216/ 082 464 6210
Professor Ncoza Dlova
dlovan@ukzn.ac.za
Diabetes, HIV-TB, CVSDr Viren Rambiritchrambiritchv@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7797
Dental public health, dental health education, research ethicsDr Shenuka Singhsinghshen@ukzn.ac.za031 242 6206/
073 841 7384
Drug Design and SynthesisProfessor Gert Krugerkruger@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1845
HIV and Antibacterial (Including TB) Drugs
NMR
Molecular Modelling
Diabetes and Insulin, Drug Metabolising EnzymesDr Peter Owiraowirap@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7720/
079 347 6920
Drug Utilization; Drug Policy; Health Information SystemsProfessor Fatima Sulemansulemanf@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7941/
837 860 758
Epigenetics, Genetics, Toxicology       Professor Anil Chuturgoonchutur@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4404
Endocrinology and DiabetesDr Ayesha Motalamotala@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4233/
083 652 4947
EndocrinologyDr Imran Parukparuki@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4233/
084 553 3399
Family Medicine, Primary Emergency Care, Maternal Surgical Safety, Quality improvement, The district Health systemProfessor Mergan Naidoonaidoom@ukzn.ac.za835005334
Forensic PathologyDr Sagaren Aiyeraiyers1@ukzn.ac.za031 240 2597/
083 387 7956
Developing and Manufacturing New Medicines, Registration of Medicines with MCC, NanotechnologyProfessor Thirumala Govendergovenderth@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7983/
083 326 3195
GeneticsProfessor Colleen Aldousaldousc@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4124/
084 407 7603
Human Genetics, TB and HIVDr. Veron Ramsuranramsuranv@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4898
82652160
GeriatricsProfessor Bilkish Cassimcassimb@uklzn.ac.za031 260 4246
Graduate level Public Health Education and Evaluation of Community SanitationDr Stephen Knightknights@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4226
837 623 123
Health Professions EducationDr Veena Singaramsingaram@ukn.ac.za312 604 594
845721018
HIV and AIDS, Operational Pharmacy Practice projects, NHIDr Vassie Naidoonaidoopj@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7487/
083 964 5429 
HIV/AIDS especially biomedical research and interventions, virology, immunologyProfessor Thumbi Ndung'undungu@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4727/
082 358 7204
HIV and lung in children, Vaccination, Pulmonology, Allergy and Immunology, TB Dr Prakash Jeena jeena@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4345/53/ 084 467 2723
HIV, Genome SequencingProfessor Tulio de Oliveiratuliodna@gmail.com355 507 542
084 289 0985
HIVProfessor Frank Tanser035 550 7500/
082 335 7438
Professor Salim Abdool KarimKarims1@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4555
HIV/Women’s HealthProfessor Quarraisha Abdool KarimQuarraisha.abdoolkarim@caprisa.org031 260 4208
Prevention of Mother to Child Transmission of HIVProfessor Daya Moodleymoodleyd1@ukzn.ac.za312 604 683
HIV Prevention in Pregnancy825507693
STIs in Pregnancy
ART in Pregnancy
HIV and Non-HIV Sexually Transmitted InfectionsDr Nathlee Abbaiabbain@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4439
716861423
Human Patient Simulation in Anaesthesia & Resuscitation TrainingDr Narendra BhimsanBhimsan@ukzn.ac.za031 240 1784/
824 632 636
Infectious DiseasesProfessor Yunus Moosamoosay@ukzn.ac.za072 522 7997
Implementation of Point-of-Care Diagnostics in Resource-Limited SettingsDr Tivani Phosa Mashamba-Thompsonmashamba-thompson@ukzn.ac.za312 602 530
Systematic Reviews784358283
Scoping Reviews
Kidney Diseases and ImmunologyDr Alain Assoungaassoungaa@ukzn.ac.za031 240 1325/
072 274 1217
Maternal Health MattersProfessor Jack Moodleyjmog@ukzn.ac.za312 604 241
836335615
Neurologically acquired communication disorders in adults; Early childhood interventionMs Legini Moodley moodleyl@ukzn.ac.za  031 260 7387 
Occupational Health and Safety, Air Pollution and Health Outcomes, occupational asthma, legislation for compensation of occupational diseasesProfessor Rajen Naidoonaidoon@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4385/
082 437 9333
Occupational TherapyMr Stanford Phehlukwayophehlukwayos@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7954/
734 519 004
Occupational Therapy, Community Engagement, HIV/Aids management, Palliative CareMs Chantal Christopherchristopherc@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8218/
845 633 799
Occupational Therapy.Mr December Mpanzampanzad@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8381/
Rural Health and Substance Abuse Services828 442 938
Occupational Therapy and Mental Health, autism, caring for the caregiver, Group work in occupational therapyDr Debbie Fewsterfewster@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7354/
846 925 899
Occupational Therapy Practice (Physical Rehabilitation, Vocational Assessment, Paediatric Development); Health Science ResearchDr Pragashnie Govendernaidoopg@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8258/
716 056 931
Occupational therapy, wheelchairs and seating, geriatrics, osteoarthritisMs June McIntoshmcintoshj@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8675/
721 225 055
Orthopaedic SurgeryDr Leonard (Len) Maraismaraisl@ukzn.ac.za829047277
Fracture-related (post-operative/post-traumatic) bone infections and chronic osteomyelitis
Physical and paediatric Occupational therapy,   primary healthcare , occupational therapy education Ms Deshni Naidoonaidoodes@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8407/
815 540 454
Ophthalmology are vitreoretinal diseases and AIDS-related ocular problemsDr Linda Visservisser@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4341/
082 958 7458
Optometry, Blindness Prevention, Ocular DiseaseDr Khathutshelo Percy Mashigemashigek@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7352/
082 465 2699
Professor Kovin Naidook.naidoo@brienholdenvision.org27 837 774 293
Ms Naimah Ebrahim Khanebrahimn@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8645/
Ms Urvashni Nirghinnirghinu@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7940/
072 589 8855
Dr Vanessa Raquel Moodleymoodleyvr@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7091/
832 595 271
Mr Alvin MunsamyMunsamya1@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7816
Paediatrics: Asthma, lung diseases in children , cystic fibrosisProfessor Refiloe Masekelamasekelar@ukzn.ac.za079 489 0936
Paediatrics, Infectious Diseases, Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome and AIDS-related Opportunistic InfectionsProfessor Raziya Bobatbobat@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4533/
083 225 6983
Paediatric Nephrology, Research EthicsProfessor Rajendra Bhimmabhimma@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4351/
083 799 5674
Pharmaceutical ChemistryProfessor Rajshekhar Karpoormathkarpoormath@ukzn.ac.za312 607 179
721107207
Physiotherapy-HIV/AIDS, Sport and Soft Tissue InjuriesProfessor Verusia ChettyChettyve@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7741
748905279
Dr Ntsikelelo Pefilepefilen@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7181/
847300432
Ms Prithi Jayaramanjayaramanp@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8024/
079 291 1510
Dr Thaya Nadasannadasant@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7939/
084 494 4880
Dr Sonill Sooknunan Maharajmaharjss@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7817/
083 461 1413
Plastic SurgeryProfessor Anil Madareemadaree@ukzn.ac.za031 240 1168/
083 625 0629
Pre-eclampsiaProfessor Anita Naicker naickera@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4435/
082 338 8821
Psychiatry and Mental HealthDr Suvira Ramlallramlalls4@ukzn.ac.za031 242 6168/
082 977 4010
Professor Bonga Chilizachilizab@ukzn.ac.za312 604 321
837826642
Public Health Medicine-HIVProfessor Myra TaylorTaylor@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4499/
761 530 842
Public Health MedicineDr Saloshni NaidooNaidoos71@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4008/
833 005 370
Renal Disease and High Blood PressureProfessor Yackoob Seedatseedaty1@ukzn.ac.za031 266 1501
Rural HealthProfessor Mosa MoshabelaMoshabela@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1736
Rural Health and Family MedicineDr Bernhard GaedeGaedeb@ukzn.ac.za312 604 210
Sexual ViolenceProfessor Sinegugu Dumadumas1@ukzn.ac.za312 604 946
Intimate Partner Violence824492635
Forensic Nursing
Nursing
Nursing Education
Speech Language PathologyDr Penny Flackflackp@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7207/
083 661 4774
Ms Desiree Johnjohnd@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7846
Ms Saira B. S. Karrim Karimsb@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7550/
084 555 2175
Sport ScienceMs Khumbuzile Cynthia Khumalokhumalok@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7544/
072 361 0413
Sport Science, Exercise Physiology, Biokineticist, Exercise as MedicineDr Takshita Sookansookan@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7987
826390875
Telemedicine, telehealth, eHealth, Sports Medicine, Health InformaticsProfessor Maurice Marsmars@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4543/
084 757 8321
Trauma/ATLS/Systems of emergency care/Prehospital care and Research EthicsProfessor Tim HardcastleHardcastle@ukzn.ac.za 082 468 1615
timothyhar@ialch.co.za
UrooncologyDr Ehab Helmy Abdel Goadabdelgoad@ukzn.ac.za031 208 8044/
083 780 8044
 VirologyDr Michelle Lucille Gordontarinm@ukzn.ac.za031 260 4779/
072 938 2250