Navigation
College of Health Sciences Directory of Experts


Areas of Expertise

Name

Email Address

Telephone Number

All animal related issues- diseases that are transmitted from animals to man-rabies

Sanil Singh

singhsd@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 8160

084 416 0271

Alzheimers, Diabetes, HIV, malaria and TB

Thavi Govender

govenderthav@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 8212

073 262 5616

Antimicrobial resistance

Chunderika Mocktar/

Sara Govinden

govindenu@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 7358/

031 260 8251

Anaesthesiology and Critical/Intensive Care

Dean Gopalan

gopalan@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 4328

082 777 4450

Antimicrobial Resistance, Antimicrobial Stewardship, Health Professional Education, Access, Retention and Success in Higher Education

Sabiha Essack

 essacks@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 4287/

082343 9892

Antimicrobial, anti-inflammatory and cytotoxic activities of natural products and synthetic compounds

Johannes Bodenstein

bodensteinj@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 7500

Audiology

Jessica Paken

Pakenj@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 7548

Bio & Research Ethics and Medical Law

Sylvester C. Chima

chima@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 4604

071 246 6168

Brain tumours, aneurysms, AVM, neuroendoscopy, paediatric neuro-surgery

Veysel Karan

karanv@ukzn.ac.za

082 975 9723

Cardiology (heart disease, hypertension, cholesterol, etc)

Sajida Khan

 

 

Datshana Naidoo

sajidahkha@ialch.co.za

 

 DatshanaNai@ialch.co.za

082 564 7477

 

031 240 2207/

083 625 7321

Childhood Development, Disabilities issues, Augmentative and Alternative Communication, Transition between school and work for learners with disabilities

Kitty Uys

uysk@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 7953/7310
082 493 2014

Clinical Aspect of HIV Infection, Neurotubercolosis

Ahmed Bhigjee

bhigjee@ukzn.ac.za

031 240 2359/63

Communication disorders associated with autism; speech disorders

Jennifer Ann Pahl

pahlj@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 7624   

Controlled release dosage forms; Clinical Pharmacy/Ward Pharmaceutical Services

Elizabeth Ojewole

ojewolee@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 7937

Dermatology

Anisa Mosam

 

Ncoza Dlova

mosama@ukzn.ac.za

 

dlova@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 4565/

084 497 8608

 

031 260 4530/ 082 464 6210

Diabetes, HIV-TB, CVS

Viren Rambiritch

rambiritchv@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 7797

 

Dental Therapy

Shenuka Singh

singhshen@ukzn.ac.za

031 242 6206/

073 841 7384

Drug Delivery and Pharmacokinetics, nanocapsules, microparticles

Gauda Mahlatsi

mahlatsig@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 7030

Diabetes and Insulin, Drug Metabolising Enzymes

Peter Owira

owirap@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 7720/

079 347 6920

Drug Utilization; Drug Policy; Health Information Systems

Fatima Suleman

sulemanf@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 7941/

083 786 0758

Epigenetics, Genetics, Toxicology       

Anil Chuturgoon

chutur@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 4404

Endocrinology and Diabetes

Ayesha Motala

motala@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 4233/

083 652 4947

Endocrinology

Imran Paruk

paruki@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 4233/

084 553 3399

Forensic Pathology

Sagaren Aiyer

aiyers1@ukzn.ac.za

031 240 2597/

083 387 7956

Developing and Manufacturing New Medicines, Registration of Medicines with MCC, Nanotechnology

Thiru Govender

govenderth@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 7983/

083 326 3195

Genetics

Colleen Aldous

aldousc@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 4124/

084 407 7603

Geriatrics

Bilkish Cassim

cassimb@uklzn.ac.za

031 260 4246

Graduate level Public Health Education and Evaluation of Community Sanitation

Stephen Knight

knights@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 4226

083 762 3123

 

HIV and AIDS, Operational Pharmacy Practice projects, NHI

 Vassie Naidoo

naidoopj@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 7487/

083 964 5429 

HIV/AIDS especially biomedical research and interventions, virology, immunology

Thumbi Ndung'u

ndungu@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 4727/

082 358 7204

HIV and lung in children, Vaccination, Pulmonology, Allergy and Immunology, TB

 Prakash Jeena

 jeena@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 4345/53/ 084 467 2723

HIV-Psycho-social

Muvo Zama

zamam@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 4783

HIV

Tulio de Oliveira

 

 

tuliodna@gmail.com

 

035 550 7542

084 289 0985

 

HIV

 Frank Tanser

 

tanserf@africacentre.ac.za

 

 035 550 7500/

082 335 7438

 

HIV

Salim Abdool Karim

Karims1@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 4555

HIV

Deenan Pillay

dpillay@AfricaCentre.ac.za

 

035 550 7500

HIV/Women’s Health

Quarraisha Abdool Karim

Quarraisha.abdoolkarim@caprisa.org

031 260 4208

Human Body Donor Programme, Human Anatomy, Plastination

Onyemaechi Azu

 azu@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 4305

 

Human Patient Simulation in Anaesthesia & Resuscitation Training

Narendra Bhimsan

Bhimsan@ukzn.ac.za

031 240 1784/

082 463 2636

Infectious Diseases

Yunus Moosa

moosay@ukzn.ac.za

072 522 7997

Kidney Diseases and Immunology

Alain Assounga

assoungaa@ukzn.ac.za

031 240 1325/

072 274 1217

Neurologically acquired communication disorders in adults; Early childhood intervention

Legini Moodley

 moodleyl@ukzn.ac.za  

031 260 7387 

Occupational Health and Safety, Air Pollution and Health Outcomes, occupational asthma, legislation for compensation of occupational diseases

Rajen Naidoo

naidoon@ukzn.ac.za

 

031 260 4385/

082 437 9333

Occupational Therapy

Stanford Phehlukwayo

phehlukwayos@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 7954/

073 451 9004

Occupational Therapy, Community Engagement, HIV/Aids management, Palliative Care

Chantal Christopher

christopherc@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 8218/
084 563 3799

Occupational Therapy.

Rural Health and Substance Abuse Services

December Mpanza

mpanzad@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 8381/

082 844 2938

Occupational Therapy and Mental Health, autism, caring for the caregiver, Group work in occupational therapy

Debbie Fewster

fewster@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 7354/
084 692 5899

Occupational Therapy Practice (Physical Rehabilitation, Vocational Assessment, Paediatric Development); Health Science Research

Pragashnie Govender

naidoopg@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 8258/
071 605 6931

Occupational therapy, wheelchairs and seating, geriatrics, osteoarthritis

June McIntosh

mcintoshj@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 8675/
072 122 5055

Physical and paediatric Occupational therapy,   primary healthcare , occupational therapy education 

Deshni Naidoo

naidoodes@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 8407/
081 554 0454

 

 

 

 

Ophthalmology are vitreoretinal diseases and AIDS-related ocular problems

Linda Visser

visser@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 4341/

082 958 7458

Opthalmology

Kavitha Naidu

kavi1910@yahoo.com

031 260 4341/

082 876 1124

Optometry

Khathutshelo Percy Mashige

mashigek@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 7352/

082 465 2699

 

Naimah Ebrahim Khan

ebrahimn@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 8645/

 

 

Urvashni Nirghin

nirghinu@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 7940/

072 589 8855

 

Vanessa Raquel Moodley

moodleyvr@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 7091/

083 259 5271

Paediatrics: Asthma, lung diseases in children , cystic fibrosis

Refiloe Masekela

masekelar@ukzn.ac.za

079 489 0936

Paediatrics, Infectious Diseases, Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome and AIDS-related Opportunistic Infections

Raziya Bobat

bobat@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 4533/

083 225 6983

Paediatric Nephrology, Research Ethics

Rajendra Bhimma

 

bhimma@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 4351/

083 799 5674

Physiotherapy-HIV/AIDS, Sport and Soft Tissue Injuries

Nirmala Naidoo

naidooni@ukzn.ac.za

031  260 7817/

083 556 2286

 

Ntsikelelo Pefile

pefilen@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 7181/

082 722 8503

 

Prithi Jayaraman

jayaramanp@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 8024/

079 291 1510

 

Thaya Nadasan

nadasant@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 7939/

084 494 4880

 

Sonill Sooknunan Maharaj

maharjss@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 7817/

083 461 1413

Physiotherapy: Women’s Health, HIV, Neuromusculoskeletal injuries/ conditions

Preshani Reddy

reddypr@ukzn.ac.za

083 799 7409

Plastic Surgery

Anil Madaree

madaree@ukzn.ac.za

031 240 1168/

083 625 0629

Pre-eclampsia

Anita Naicker

 naickera@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 4435/

082 338 8821

Psychiatry and Mental Health

Jonathan Burns

burns@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 4321/

083 792 5685

 

Suvira Ramlall

ramlalls4@ukzn.ac.za

031 242 6168/

082 977 4010

Public Health Medicine-HIV

Myra Taylor

Taylor@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 4499/

076 153 0842

Public Health Medicine

Saloshni Naidoo

Naidoos71@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 4008/

083 300 5370

Renal Disease and High Blood Pressure

Yackoob Seedat

seedaty1@ukzn.ac.za

031 266 1501

Rural Health

Mosa Moshabela

Moshabela@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 1736

Rural Health and Family Medicine

Bernhard Gaede

Gaedeb@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 4210

Speech Language Pathology

Penny Flack

flackp@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 7207/

083 661 4774

 

Desiree John

johnd@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 7846

 

Saira B. S. Karrim 

Karimsb@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 7550/

084 555 2175

Sport Science

Khumbuzile Cynthia Khumalo

khumalok@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 7544/

072 361 0413

Sport Science and Exercise Physiology

Edith Peters-Futre

futree@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 4237

TB/HIV Integration

Nesri Padayatchi

Nesri.padayatchi@caprisa.org

031 260 4556

Telemedicine, telehealth, eHealth, Sports Medicine, Health Informatics

Maurice Mars

mars@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 4543/

084 757 8321

Trauma/ATLS/Systems of emergency care/Prehospital care and Research Ethics

Tim Hardcastle

Hardcastle@ukzn.ac.za timothyhar@ialch.co.za

082 468 1615

Urooncology

 

Ehab Helmy Abdel Goad

abdelgoad@ukzn.ac.za

 

031 208 8044/

083 780 8044

 Virology

Michelle Lucille Gordon

tarinm@ukzn.ac.za

031 260 4779/

072 938 2250

 

 



Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved