Navigation
School of Clinical Medicine

 

SCHOOL OF CLINICAL MEDICINE

 

Rm 293, 2nd Floor, Main Building
Ph: (031) 260-4216 / 4614
Fax: (031) 260-4140

Rm 420, 4th Floor, Main Building
Ph: (031) 260-4545 / 4209
Fax: (031) 260-4041

 

 

 

 

Prof RJ Hift

Dean & HOS

hift@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4216

 

Mrs AS Botha

Manager: School Operations

bothaa2@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4545

 

PROFESSIONAL SERVICES STAFF - CENTRAL

Name

Portfolio

Email

Phone

Anitha Pillay

Electives Administrator

anirudh@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4605

Clive Symons

Senior Technician

symonsc@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4299

Dineshree Govender

Hospital Teaching Coordinator: RK Khan

govenderd3@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4141

Juliet Ngidi

5th Year MBChB Coordinator

ngidij1@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4248

Lushy Konar

Postgraduate Administrator

konar@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4309

Mary Thandi Mbhele

School Administrator

bothaa2@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4545

Mavis Moodley

Logistics Administrator

moodleym34@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4802

Monique du Toit

Hospital Teaching Coordinator: Addington

dutoit@ukzn.ac.za

-

Mthoko Ngubane

Assistant Technician

ngubane@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4269

Nerisha Singh

Administrator to Assist with Templates (temp)

Singhn@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4327

Nhloso Hlophe

Hospital Teaching Coordinator: Pmb Complex

hlophe@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4672

Nokhukhanya Khwela

Hospital Teaching Coordinator: Pmb Complex

khwelan@ukzn.ac.za

(033) 897-3753

Nondumiso Mfungeni

Hospital Teaching Coordinator: Pmb Complex

mfungeni@ukzn.ac.za

(033) 897-3753

Nonhlanhla Masinga

Reception/School Administration

masingan1@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4416

Nonhlanhla Radebe

Hospital Teaching Coordinator: KEH

radeben@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4097

Sbusiso Mbokasi

Postgraduate Administrator

mbokazi@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4495

Silindile Mncube

Hospital Teaching Coordinator: Prince Mshiyeni

phakathis1@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 907-8472

Simpiwe Mthalane

Hospital Teaching Coordinator: Mahatma Gandhi

mthalanes2@ukzn.ac.za

082-8925711

Simphiwe Thango

Driver: Clinical Medicine

thango@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4802

Sithembile Khuzwayo

PA to Dean & HOS

Khuzwayos@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4216

Sya Cain

Assistant Finance Administrator (temp)

cain@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4897

Thirumalai Govender

Principal Technician: Medicine

govendert28@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4316

Thuli Ngcobo

Postgraduate Administrator

ngcobot@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4999

Veronica Jantjies

Postgraduate Administrator

jantjies@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4745

Zandile Magwaza

4th Year MBChB Coordinator

magwazaz@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4010

Zanele Shangase

Finance Administrator

shangasez1@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4661

Prof M Adhikari

Academic Advisor: UG & PG programmes

adhikari@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4147

Dr C Aldous

Head: Clinical Medicine Laboratory

aldousc@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4124

Dr M Matthews

Head: Clinical Skills Laboratory

matthewsm@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4752

Dr M Motala

Academic Coordinator: 4th Year MBChB

motalam@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-3132

Dr M Govind

MMed Coordinator

govindm@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4228

Dr S Ramklass

Academic Coordinator: Research Methodology

ramklass@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4123

Dr V Singaram

Academic Leader: Research (Acting)

singaram@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4594

Prof TE Sommerville

Academic Coordinator: 5th Year MBChB

sommer@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4409

Vacant

Academic Leader: Teaching & Learning




ACADEMIC DISCIPLINES - Heads & Professional Service Staff


Department/Discipline

Staff

Email

Phone

ANAESTHETICS
Rm 420, 4th Floor, Main Building,
NRMSM Campus

Dr PD Gopalan (HOD)

gopalan@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4324

Mrs Camy Singh

singhc@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4329

Mr Naren Bhimsan

bhimsan@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 240-1784/1763

Nelly Musirinofa

Musirinofa@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 240-4328

CARDIOLOGY
Level 2, D Block, IALCH Hospital

Prof DP Naidoo (HOD)

naidood@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 240-2207

Gugu Precious Nala

NalaG@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 240-1910/1916

(031) 2604282

CARDIOTHORACIC SURGERY
Level 4, B Block, IALCH Hospital

Dr R Madansein (Acting HOD)

madansein@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 240-2114

Ms Meena Thotharam

thothara@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 240-1171

CLINICAL COGNITION
Main Building
NRMSM Campus

Dr J van Wyk (HOD)

vanwykj2@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4336

Dr R Abraham

abrahamr@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-3132

Dr L Campbell

campbella@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4539

Ms M Donda

donda@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4753

Dr M Govind

govindm@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4228

Dr M Matthews

matthewsm@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4752

Dr M Motala

motalam@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-3132

Dr EA Ntando

ntando@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4190

Dr S Ramklass

ramklass@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4123

Dr V Singaram

singaram@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4594

Prof T Sommerville

sommer@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4409

Dr N Sunderlall

sunderlalln@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4530

CLINICAL SUPPORT

Ms Sagree Pillay

pillayd@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4217

DERMATOLOGY
Room, 327, 3rd Floor, Main Building,
NRMSM Campus

Dr CN Dlova (HOD)

dlovan@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4504

Ms Phakama Jika

jika@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4531

ENDOCRINOLOGY
Rm 343, 3rd Floor, Main Building,
NRMSM campus

Prof AA Motala (HOD)

motala@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4536

Mrs C Vedalankar

Vedalankarc@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4537

GASTROENTEROLOGY
Rm 344, 3rd Floor, Main Building
NRMSM Campus

Prof KA Newton (HOD)

newton@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4761

Mrs Susan Naidoo

naidoos75@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4761

GENERAL MEDICINE
Rm 333, 3rd Floor, Main Building
NRMSM Campus

Dr NP Magula (HOD)

Magulan@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4238

Ms Thulile Shezi

Shezit@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4242

Ms Nana Ngobese

ngobesen1@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4159

GENERAL SURGERY
Rm 348, 3rd Floor, Main Building
NRMSM Campus

Prof B Singh (Acting HOD)

singhb3@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4219

Ms Pat Narayansamy

narayanasamyp@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4271

Mrs Bryteeny Ramsamy

moodleyb2@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4219

GERIATRIC MEDICINE
Rm 331, 3rd Floor, Main Building
NRMSM Campus

Prof B Cassim (HOD)

CassimB@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4740

Mrs Chandrika Vedalankar

Vedalankarc@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4537

INFECTIOUS DISEASES
Rm 319, 3rd Floor, Main Building
NRMSM Campus

Prof MYS Moosa (HOD)

moosay@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4368/9

Mrs Faith Coetzee

Coetzee@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4368/9

NEPHROLOGY
Rm 322, 3rd Floor, Main Building
NRMSM Campus

Prof AGH Assounga (HOD)

Assoungaa@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 240-1325

Mrs Susan Naidoo

naidoos75@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4761

NEUROLOGY
Level 3, D Block, IALCH Hospital

Prof AE Bhigjee (HOD)

bhigjee@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 240-2359

Ms Nomfundo Msomi

Msomin@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 240-2359

NEUROSURGERY
Level 1, D Block, IALCH Hospital

Dr E Kiratu (Acting HOD)

erastuskir@ialch.co.za

(031) 240-1137

Mrs Savie Govender

govendesa@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 240-1137

OPHTHALMOLOGY
? McCords Hospital

Dr L Visser (HOD)

visser@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4341

Ms Salome Pillay

pillaysa@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4292

ORTHOPAEDIC SURGERY
Rm 403, 4th Floor, Main Building
NRMSM Campus

Dr MN Rasool (Acting HOD)

rasool@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4393

Ms Jennifer Naidoo

naidooj30@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4297

OTORHINOLARYNGOLOGY
Rm 400, 4th Floor, Main Building
NRMSM Campus

Dr Y Saman (HOD)

Samany@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4312

Ms Salome Pillay

pillaysa@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4292

OBSTETRICS & GYNAECOLOGY
Rm 196, 1st Floor, Main Building
NRMSM Campus

Dr S Ramphal
(acting HOD)


RAMPHALS1@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4206/4244

Ms Merle Boucher

boucherm@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4220

Ms Grace Ngubane

ngubaneg3@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4390/4804

PAEDIATRICS & CHILD HEALTH
Rm 475, 4th Floor, Main Building
NRMSM Campus

Dr R Masekela (HOD)

Masekelar@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4441

Mrs Diane Pillay

Pillayd31@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4345

Ms Portia Nhlangulela

nhlangulelap1@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4742

PAEDIATRIC SURGERY
Level 3, D Block, IALCH Hospital

Dr MH Sheik Gafoor (HOD)

Sheikmh@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 240-1579

Mrs Savie Govender

govendesa@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 240-1137

PLASTIC & RECONSTRUCTIVE SURGERY
Level 1, D Block, IALCH Hospital

Prof A Madaree (HOD)

Madaree@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 240-1171

Ms Meena Thotharam

Thothara@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 240-1171

PSYCHIATRY
Rm 414, 4th Floor, Main Building
NRMSM Campus

Prof J Burns (HOD)

burns@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4321

Ms Khwezi Khanyile

khanyilen2@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4321

PULMONOLOGY
Rm 334, 3rd Floor, Main Building
NRMSM Campus

Dr M Suleman (HOD)

SULEMANM@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4537

Mrs Chandrika Vedalankar

Vedalankarc@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4537

RADIOLOGY
Rm 547, 5th Floor, Main Building
NRMSM Campus

Dr D Ramaema (Acting HOD)

ramaema@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4301

Ms Nonhlanhla Masinga

Masingan1@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4301

RADIOTHERAPY & ONCOLOGY
Addington Hospital

Dr PS Govender (Acting HOD)

poovan.gov@gmail.com

(031) 327-2182

Ms Yolisa Mncundza

mncundzay@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 240-1910/1916

(031) 2604282

RHEUMATOLOGY
Rm ?, 5th Floor, Main Building, 
NRMSM Campus

Prof G Mody (HOD)

modyg@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4520

Ms Phakama Jika

jika@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4531

UROLOGY
Rm 545, 5th Floor, Main Building
NRMSM Campus

 

 

 

Ms Salome Pillay

pillaysa@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4292

RK KHAN HOSPITAL

Hospital Teaching Coordinator

Ms Slindile Phakathi

Phakathis1@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-4141

ADDINGTON HOSPITAL

Hospital Teaching Coordinator

Mr Brian Zaca

Zacab@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 327-2611

PRINCE MSHIYENI HOSPITAL

Hospital Teaching Coordinator

Ms Zinhle Nkala

Nkalaz@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-1034

MAHATMA GANDHI HOSPITAL

Hospital Teaching Coordinator

Mr Siyabonga Khanyile

Khanyiles@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 260-2996

IALCH HOSPITAL

Hospital Teaching Coordinator

Ms Nomfundo Msomi

Msomin@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 240-2359

KING EDWARD VIII HOSPITAL

Hospital Teaching Coordinator

Ms Philile Khuzwayo

khuzwayop@ukzn.ac.za

(031) 240-1948

NGWELEZANE HOSPITAL

Hospital Teaching Coordinator

 

KING DINIZULU HOSPITAL

Hospital Teaching Coordinator

Ms Lizzy Ndelu

ndelul@ukzn.ac.za

+27 (0)31 240 2359 




Honorary Staff

Name

Portfolio

Email

Phone

Prof  Bruce Biccard

Honorary Associate Professor

biccardb@ukzn.ac.za

+27 (0)31 260 4328

Dr David Lee Skinner

Honorary Clinical Fellow

skinnerd@ukzn.ac.za

+27 (0)31 360 3581

SP Blakemore

Honorary Staff member

steve.blakemore@kznhealth.gov.za

+27 (0)31 260 4328

R Gobind

Honorary Staff member

rishant@telkomsa.net

+27 (0)79 603 3574

P Gokal

Honorary Staff member

drgokal@gmail.com

+27 (0)83 378 6927

Dr Komalan Govender

Honorary Clinical Fellow

Govenderk6@ukzn.ac.za

+27 (0)31 260 4329

Dr DG Bishop

Honorary Staff member

bishop@ukzn.ac.za

+27 (0)33 395 4201

Dr AC Inglis

Honorary Clinical Lecturer

isinglis@gmail.com

+27 (0)82 495 0135

Dr N Ndebele

Honorary Clinical Lecturer

nontyngco@gmail.com

+27 (0)79 496 2036

Dr R Maharaj

Honorary Clinical Lecturer

roshenmaharaj@gmail.com

+27 (0)72 269 8840

Dr S Garach

Honorary Clinical Lecturer

srgza@yahoo.co.uk

+27 (0)82 495 0135

Dr S Pillay

Honorary Clinical Lecturer

drseelanpillay@gmail.com

+27 (0)74 186 6934

Dr D Fiandeiro

Honorary Clinical Lecturer

danielhasemail@gmail.com

+27 (0)72 152 2907

Dr P Ramraj 

Honorary Clinical Lecturer

praneshramraj@yahoo.com

+27 (0)82 650 4864

Dr Nellis Van Zyl Smit

Honorary Clinical Lecturer

Nellis.vanZylSmit@kznhealth.gov.za

+27 (0)81 733 4522

Dr N Parag

Honorary Clinical Lecturer

nivishaparag@yahoo.com

+27 (0)84 304 1230

Dr J Matthews

Honorary Clinical Lecturer

Rapid.sequence@yahoo.com

+27 (0)83 748 5522

Dr R Shah

Honorary Clinical Lecturer

ruvenshah@hotmail.com

+27 (0)82 554 2410

Dr Kwazi C Z Ndlovu

Nephrologist

ndlovuk@ukzn.ac.za 

+27 (0)31 240 1325

Dr Keith J Chinniah

Honorary Clinical Lecturer

Chinniahk1@ukzn.ac.za

+27 (0)31 260 4284

Dr Rasha Maharaj

Honorary Lecturer

Maharajr2@ukzn.ac.za 

+27 (0)31 260 4284

Dr Farhana Cassim

Honorary Lecturer

farhanacas@gmail.com

+27 (0)82 4135 355

Dr Mould

Honorary clinical fellow

moulds@ukzn.ac.za

+27 (0)31 459 6000

Dr Logie Govender

Honorary Staff member

Govenderl18@ukzn.ac.za 

+27 (0)31 260 4390

Dr Thami Buthelezi

Honorary Staff member

thamibut@iafrica.com

+27 (0)82 456 5317

Dr Priya Israel

Honorary Staff member

Priya.Israel@kznhealth.gov.za

+27 (0)33 897 3094

Dr Makgobane Ramogale-Zungu

Honorary Staff member

makgobane@gmail.com

+27 (0)11 321 6000

Dr Zakithi N Mathenjwa

Honorary Paediatric Specialist

mathenjwaz@ukzn.ac.za

+27 (0)31 459 6205

T Bisseru

Honorary Staff

bisseru@ukzn.ac.za

+27 (0)82 358 8555

Dr Vasantha Govender

Paediatric Specialist Neurology

govenderv29@ukzn.ac.za

+27 (0)84 567 8057

Dr Visva Naidoo

Honorary Lecturer

naidoov@ukzn.ac.za

+27 (0)31 260 4347

Dr Omran Ali Abdullah El-Koha

Honorary Staff

Elkoha@ukzn.ac.za  

+27 (0)33 897 3222

CY Chen

Honorary Lecturer

chenc5@ukzn.ac.za

+27 (0)31 24 02114

Dr Darshan Reddy

Cardiothoracic Surgeon

Darshan.Reddy@ialch.co.za

+27 (0)31 240 1000

Dr H Mangray

Honorary Lecturer

Mangrayh@gmail.com

+27 (0)33 897 3047

Dr George Oosthuizen

Honorary Lecturer

george.oosthuizen@kznhealth.gov.za

+27 (0)33 897 3381

Dr Michael Faurie

Consultant general surgeon

michael.faurie@ialch.co.za

+27 (0)31 240 2384

Wanda Bekker

Honorary Staff

bekkerwanda@yahoo.com

+27 (0)82 469 3384

Dr Damian Clarke

Honorary Senior Lecturer

damianclar@gmail.com

+27 (0)31 207 4675

Dr CH Kruse

Honorary Staff

ruraleye@gmail.com

+27 (0)33 897 3345

Dr KR Moodley

Honorary lecturer

kapilmoodley@telkomsa.net

+27 (0)83 799 6933

Dr L Heydenrych

Honorary lecturer

flutedr@gmail.com

+27 (0)82 567 9344

Dr N Xulu

Honorary lecturer

nozipho.xulu@yahoo.com

+27 (0)83 699 9189

Dr N Chetty

Honorary lecturer

naren@durbaneyedoctor.com

+27 (0)83 782 8882

Dr V Govender

Honorary lecturer

veloshnigovender@yahoo.co.uk

+27 (0)84 261 0594

Dr C Dewar

Honorary lecturer

cath@urry.co.za

+27 (0)83 261 4919

Dr M Du Bruyn

Honorary lecturer

aritha2@gmail.com

+27 (0)82 782 9329

Dr K Chetty

Honorary lecturer

kreasen@yahoo.com

+27 (0)82 575 8684

Dr S Aghdasi

Honorary lecturer

saghdasi@gmail.com

+27 (0)82 459 9921

Dr KA Ramdass

Honorary lecturer

kevinandrewramdass@gmail.com

+27 (0)83 776 1715

Dr Y Reddy

Honorary lecturer

yavischereddy@gmail.com

+27 (0)82 472 6694

Dr S Lalloo

Honorary lecturer

lalloo@futurenet.co.za

+27 (0)82 372 8925

Dr MJ Young

Honorary lecturer

matt@durbanretina.co.za

+27 (0)78 321 2215

Dr K Naidu

Honorary lecturer

kavi1910@yahoo.com

+27 (0)82 876 1124

Dr D Parbhoo

Honorary lecturer

parbhood@gmail.com

+27 (0)83 324 8311

Dr S Ballim

Honorary lecturer

shaheerballim@gmail.com

+27 (0)83 786 3424

Dr M Harrison

Honorary lecturer

mharrison@iburst.co.za

+27 (0)33 342 5433/4

Dr AG Zaborowski

Honorary lecturer

azaborowski@mweb.co.za

+27 (0)71 376 0817

Dr GC Ladner

Honorary lecturer

gc_ladner@hotmail.com

+27 (0)83 441 1543

Dr Y Jhavary

Honorary lecturer

 

+27 (0)31 208 9913

Mr Thabiso Wilson Yende

Medical Officer

thabisoy@yahoo.com

+27 (0)33 897 3299

Dr S Maharajh

Honorary Lecturer

MaharajhS@ukzn.ac.za

+27 (0)31 260 4312

Dr Yusuf Asmal

Honorary Lecturer

-

+27 (0)31 260 4321

Dr Mahendra Ramdeyal

Honorary Lecturer

-

+27 (0)31 260 4321

Dr Nkululeko Masinga

Honorary Lecturer

-

+27 (0)31 260 4321

Dr Keshika Singh

Honorary Lecturer

-

+27 (0)31 260 4321

Dr Zeenat Kader

Honorary Lecturer

-

+27 (0)31 260 4321

Dr Jayshree Naidoo

Honorary Lecturer

-

+27 (0)31 260 4321

Dr Neville Raymond

Honorary Lecturer

-

+27 (0)31 260 4321

 

 

 


Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved